Those wishing to travel to Schengen area to be additionally checked

Those wishing to travel to Schengen area to be additionally checked
Those wishing to travel to Schengen area to be additionally checked

The procedure of additional inspection of Georgian citizens wishing to travel to Schengen countries will be introduced at the Georgian border checkpoints in order to verify the compliance of their documents with the Schengen area requirements starting from January 1, 2021.

EU Ambassador to Georgia Carl Hartzell visited the Tbilisi International Airport to learn how the inspection will occur and what Georgian citizens need to know about it.

"Visa-free travel is one of the most visible successes of Georgia-EU relations, and it is, therefore, vital to prevent the misuse of visa-free travel and ensure that this regime operates as efficiently as possible. Part of this effort is introducing an additional checking procedure for Georgian citizens wishing to travel to EU / Schengen countries. These are not new restrictions or new rules. From January 1, 2021, passengers will be checked in Georgia before their departure as well as after they arrive in the EU / Schengen countries. We work with Georgia and the European Union's relevant agencies to ensure that these inspections are conducted as smoothly as possible, following international standards and regulations. I hope that the volume of visa-free travel between the EU and Georgia will increase even more in the coming years," Hartzell stated.

Georgian citizens enjoy visa-free travel to the following countries: Austria, Belgium, Germany, Denmark, Spain, Estonia, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Greece, France, Switzerland, Slovakia, Slovenia, Hungary, Finland, Czech Republic, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway, Sweden, Croatia, Bulgaria, Cyprus, and Romania.

The duration of any visit like this shall not exceed 90 days in any 180 days. Exceeding 90 days' stay in the EU / Schengen country's territory will be considered illegal. Such persons are made to leave the country and are not allowed to enter the territory of an EU / Schengen member state for up to 5 years. A fine of up to € 3,000 may be imposed.

Visa-free travel is possible for the following purposes:


Visiting family members/relatives/friends;

Business visit, for business purposes;

Participation in international seminars, conferences, symposiums, and exhibitions;

Participation in short-term training courses, exchange training/internship programs;

Use of medical services - short-term course of treatment/surgery.

If you find out orphographic mistake in the text, please select mistaken part of the text and press Ctrl + Enter.

Last added

Latest news